The Miami campus of Keiser University is proud to announce the addition of a chapter of Psi Chi, the international honor society in psychology. The Keiser University Psi Chi Chapter was installed on August 14, 2017 with Dr. Melissa Noya serving as the primary faculty advisor.


The campus offers a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology degree with a diverse curriculum providing a broad-based education in many facets of behavior, mental processes, communication, research, and writing. The student learning objectives of the program includes the application of scientific method and the ethical treatment of human and animal research subjects.


“As a former student member of Psi Chi one of my visions was to help establish a Psi Chi chapter at Keiser University so I am very excited to be a part of this achievement. This international honor society in psychology is a fantastic way for the students enrolled in the psychology program or related fields at Keiser University to extended what they are learning in the classroom and be recognized for their academic achievement, along with increased opportunities for leadership roles, networking, scholarships, and community service,” stated Dr. Melissa Noya, Program Director for Psychology.


The charter members for the new chapter of Psi Chi at the Miami campus are Abel Bueno, Jesus Castillo, Veronica Coronoa, Dustin Hawkins, Christina Hernandez, Yoselyn Roca, Juliette Rodriguez, and Katherine Tycoliz. Additional faculty advisors will be Drs. Raymond Brown and Jennifer Peluso.


Psi Chi was founded in 1929 during the Ninth International Congress of Psychology held at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut. The Honor Society’s stated purpose is to encourage, stimulate, and maintain excellence in scholarship, and to advance the science of psychology. Many of the Society’s members have gone on to distinguished careers in psychology, including several presidents of the American Psychological Association (APA) and the American Psychological Society (APS), numerous national and international award winners, and various other renowned research psychologists, authors, professors, and practitioners.